Gimenez: My foul on Vinicius was not a penalty

Atletico Madrid defender Jose Gimenez has denied that his foul on Vinicius Junior was a penalty during their 3-1 defeat in Madrid derby. 

The Uruguayan international was penalised by the referee for a trip on the 18 year-old, with VAR confirming the decision, and Sergio Ramos converted the resulting penalty.

However replays of the incident show that the foul took place outside of the penalty area, a view which Gimemez agrees with. 

"It was a foul and it was a risky movement by me as I tried to get to a difficult ball.

"When he goes down there is contact, but the foul is outside the area, of that I am certain."

The decision was not the only VAR one to go against Atletico Madrid on the day, with Alvaro Morata being denied a goal an a penalty in the second half by  the video assistant.

Tags Jose Gimenez