Madrid’s Marcelo: I handled the ball

Real Madrid defender Marcelo has admitted the ball struck his hand during a penalty appeal for Bayern Munich in the Champions League.

Strong appeals from the German side followed the ball striking the hand of Marcelo from Joshua Kimmich’s cross before the break, but referee Cuneyt Cakir waved play on.

“The ball hit my hand but you already know I don't speak to the referee,” Marcelo is quoted as telling reporters by Globo Esporte, cited by ESPN FC.

“He's already erred against us and now I can't come here and talk about the referee again.

“It's what happened. It's difficult because there's a lot in front of you, but if I say that it didn't touch my hand, I'd be a liar."

“Now we go game to game, season to season, we don't think a lot about the future. We know the start of the season was tough, now we have to enjoy and dispute this final.

“There are four finals in a very short time, I believe we are making history. To reach four finals in five years is difficult and here we are.”

Tags Bayern Munich Marcelo
La Liga - Club News