Isco: Bayern pen wasn’t one

Isco hit back at criticism of Real Madrid’s victory over Bayern Munich as the Germans “were awarded a penalty that wasn’t one”.

A controversial Champions League quarter-final second leg saw Bayern suffer at the hands of several wrong decisions by referee Viktor Kassai, but Isco insisted Arjen Robben was not fouled by Casemiro for Die Roten’s opening goal.

“We suffered a lot but got what we wanted,” the midfielder said after the match.

“The important thing was to go through and I was lucky to play from the start.

“We had many clear chances to score, but the team never went under.

“Controversy? That’s football, there in Munich, they were awarded a penalty that wasn’t one.

“Decisions? They’ll have been right or wrong, I wasn’t able to see them.

“Clasico? I’m working to be a starter, I try to help my teammates and the Coach will name the correct line-up.

“I’m always ready to help the team and I’m like that 100 percent.”

Tags Bayern Munich Isco