Election day for Barca

The day has come for one of Josep Maria Bartomeu, Joan Laporta, Agusti Benedito and Toni Freixa to be elected Barcelona President for the next six years.

As many as 109,367 socios are registered to make their voice heard at the polls today, with anywhere between 30,000 and 45,000 votes expected to be enough for the winning candidate.

The two fundamental questions facing socios are the potential President’s ability to maintain the club’s success on the pitch and ensure plans to modernise Camp Nou are carried out.

Barca statutes also state boards of directors must consist of a minimum 14 members and a maximum 21 and that Presidents must provide guarantees for 15 percent of the club’s annual budget – around €78m.

Bartomeu, who presided over Barca’s second treble last season, is considered the favourite, although Laporta – another successful former patron – is being tipped to run him close.

The polls will open at 09:00 CET and close exactly 12 hours later, with the winner likely to be revealed between 22:30 CET and 23:30 CET.

This is the first time two former Presidents, Bartomeu and Laporta, will face off in a Barca election and that the other two candidates previously worked under their respective regimes.

Josep Lluis Nunez remains the longest-serving Barca President, having led them for 22 years between 1978 and 2000, while the shortest reign was Vicenc Reig, who resigned just 22 days after being elected in 1908.

Tags Agusti Benedito Joan Laporta Josep Maria Bartomeu Toni Freixa
La Liga - Club News