Argentina name WC squad

Argentina have named their 23-man squad for the World Cup, including four Liga based players.

Coach Alejandro Sabella confirmed his travelling party overnight, and has named Barcelona pair Lionel Messi and Javier Mascherano, as well as Augusto Fernandez of Celta Vigo and Real Madrid midfielder Angel Di Maria.

Valencia’s Ever Banega, who is currently on loan at Newell’s Old Boys, misses out though – as does Jose Sosa of Atletico Madrid.

Argentina have been placed in Group F alongside Bosnia, Iran and Nigeria.

Goalkeepers: Sergio Romero (Sampdoria), Mariano Andujar (Catania), Agustin Orion (Boca Juniors)

Defenders: Pablo Zabaleta (Manchester City), Federico Fernandez (Napoli), Ezequiel Garay (Benfica), Marcos Rojo (Sporting Lisbon), Hugo Campagnaro (Inter Milan), Martin Demichelis (Manchester City), Jose Basanta (Monterrey)

Midfielders: Javier Mascherano (Barcelona), Fernando Gago (Boca Juniors), Lucas Biglia (Lazio), Ricardo Alvarez (Inter Milan), Augusto Fernandez (Celta Vigo), Angel Di Maria (Real Madrid), Maxi Rodriguez (Newell's Old Boys), Enzo Perez (Benfica)

Forwards: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Gonzalo Higuain (Napoli), Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), Rodrigo Palacio (Inter Milan), Ezequiel Lavezzi (Paris St Germain)

Tags Argentina Di Maria Mascherano Messi World Cup 2014