Tough World Cup groups drawn

The draw for the group stages of the 2014 World Cup in Brazil has taken place, throwing up some mouth-watering ties.

Current holders Spain will notably begin the defence of their trophy in Group B against the Netherlands, the nation they defeated in the 2010 competition final, before facing tests against Chile and Australia.

La Roja and Brazil will be keen to both win their respective groups to avoid a Last 16 meeting, with the competition hosts in Group A alongside Croatia, Mexico and Cameroon.

Italy were the European team drawn out of Pot 4 to move into Pot 2 and face a tricky Group D alongside Uruguay, Costa Rica and England.

One of the tournament favourites Germany also face a challenge in Group G, as they face Portugal, Ghana and Jurgen Klinsmann’s USA.

Friday evening’s draw at the Costa do Sauipe resort in Sao Joao da Mata, Bahia, has given Argentina and Belgium relatively more favourable groups, with the latter set for the least travelling across the country in the opening rounds.

World Cup 2014 group stage draw

Group A: Brazil, Croatia, Mexico, Cameroon

Group B: Spain, Netherlands, Chile, Australia

Group C: Colombia, Greece, Ivory Coast, Japan

Group D: Uruguay, Costa Rica, England, Italy

Group E: Switzerland, Ecuador, France, Honduras

Group F: Argentina, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Iran, Nigeria

Group G: Germany, Portugal, Ghana, USA

Group H: Belgium, Algeria, Russia, Korea Republic

Click here to see the full World Cup 2014 group stage draw and fixtures.

Tags Argentina Brazil France Germany Italy Netherlands Spain World Cup 2014