Messi, Falcao up for Puskas Award

Lionel Messi and Radamel Falcao have been announced as two of the 10 candidates up for the 2012 FIFA Puskas Award.

Named after former Hungary and Real Madrid man Ferenc Puskas, this prize recognises the best goal of the previous 12 months, with the award handed out at the FIFA Ballon d’Or ceremony each January.

Messi’s strike for Argentina against Brazil in June, where he ran from the halfway line to then curl a left-footed effort from outside the area high and around the goalkeeper, is up for nomination this year.

So too is Falcao’s acrobatic effort for Atletico Madrid against America de Cali in May [pictured], where he horizontally met a corner-kick to convert into the top corner.

The 10 goals from world football up for the prize are now subject to a public vote via FIFA’s website to determine the winner. Last year’s winner Neymar is again up for the award this term.

2012 FIFA Puskas Award nominees

Agyemany Badu (Ghana vs. Guinea, February 1, 2012)

Hatem Ben Arfa (Newcastle United vs. Blackburn Rovers, January 7, 2012)

Radamel Falcao (America de Cali vs. Atletico Madrid, May 19, 2012)

Eric Hassli (Vancouver Whitecaps vs. Toronto FC, May 16, 2012)

Olivia Jimenez (Mexico vs. Switzerland, August 22, 2012)

Gaston Mealla (Nacional Potosi vs. The Strongest, January 29, 2012)

Lionel Messi (Brazil vs. Argentina, June 9, 2012)

Neymar (Santos vs. Internacional, March 7, 2012)

Moussa Sow (Fenerbahce vs. Galatasaray, March 17, 2012)

Miroslav Stoch (Fenerbahce vs. Gencierbirligi, March 3, 2012)

Tags Falcao FIFA Puskas Award Messi