FIFA announce The Best award nominees

Four of the ten nominees for FIFA’s The Best Men’s Player of the Year award are Spanish-based from the league’s leading three clubs.

Lionel Messi, Raphael Varane, Luka Modric and Antoine Griezmann are all on the list, while Cristiano Ronaldo – formerly of Real Madrid – all made the shortlist.

The notable absentee was former Barcelona star Neymar, who suffered an injury-disrupted campaign with Paris Saint-Germain before a disappointing World Cup campaign with Brazil.

Ronaldo, now at Juventus, has won the award in both years of its existence although Neymar’s club teammate Kylian Mbappe and Madrid midfielder Modric may end his rein.

The period of times covers 3 July 2017 – the end of last season’s Confederations Cup – until 15 July 2018, the World Cup final.

Varane is also a strong candidate having helped Madrid to the Champions League title and France to the World Cup – the only player to win both trophies this season.

The awards take place in a ceremony in London on 24 September.

Tags Cristiano Ronaldo FIFA The Best