Spain World Cup squad announced

Chelsea trio Marcos Alonso, Alvaro Morata and Cesc Fabregas are among the absentees from Spain’s 23-man squad for the 2018 World Cup in Russia.

Their Stamford Bridge teammate Cesar Azpiliecueta has made the squad, while former Blues striker Diego Costa, now at Atletico Madrid, has been included.

Other key absentees include Barcelona utility player Sergi Roberto and Real Betis defender Marc Bartra, who has enjoyed a strong run of form since his January return to La Liga.

Six Real Madrid players have been included in the squad, including defensive trio Sergio Ramos, Nacho Fernandez and Dani Carvajal alongside attacking trio Lucas Vazquez, Isco and Marco Asensio.

Barcelona have four representatives in the squad while Atletico Madrid have three, with strikers Rodrigo Moreno (Valencia) and Iago Aspas (Celta Vigo) also included.

Arsenal’s Nacho Monreal has been preferred to Marcos Alonso while midfield duo Dani Parejo (Valencia) and Rodri (Villarreal), included in recent squads, have been left out.

Other recent call-ups not to be included are Real Sociedad midfielder Asier Illarramendi alongside Italian-based playmakers Luis Alberto and Suso, while Bayern Munich's Javi Martinez also misses out, but teammate Thiago Alcantara is included.

Other English-based players including Hector Bellerin, Pedro Rodriguez, Ander Herrera, Alberto Moreno and Juan Mata have not been included.

Spain squad for 2018 World Cup

Goalkeepers: David De Gea (Manchester United), Pepe Reina (Napoli), Kepa Arrizabalaga (Athletic Club)

Defenders: Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid), Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Nacho Fernandez (Real Madrid), Nacho Monreal (Arsenal), Alvaro Odriozola (Real Sociedad)

Midfielders: Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Saul Niguez (Atletico Madrid), Isco (Real Madrid), Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich), David Silva (Manchester City), Lucas Vazquez (Real Madrid), Marco Asensio (Real Madrid)

Forwards: Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid), Rodrigo Moreno (Valencia), Iago Aspas (Celta Vigo)

Tags Julen Lopetegui Spain World Cup
La Liga - Club News