Simeone understands Costa red

Diego Simeone will not contest the decision to dismiss striker Diego Costa on Saturday after celebrating with the club’s fans.

The striker – making his first league appearance for the club since 2014 – scored the second goal in Atletico Madrid’s 2-0 victory over Getafe, before being shown a second yellow card for celebrating with the club’s fans.

“You can all make your own decisions, but if the rule is like that then the yellow card is deserved, and I have nothing more to say,” Simeone told reporters.

“I want to focus on the good things that Costa did and let the referee interpret the emotional side of things, as he is there to follow the rules.

“After six months out and you score an important goal, you want to celebrate with the fans but obviously if there is a rule, you must accept that.

“Costa gave us intensity and more strength in attack, he transmits fear and it can be seen in everything, so we are happy.”

Tags Diego Costa
La Liga - Club News