Costa escapes bite punishment

Chelsea striker Diego Costa has escaped punishment for his apparent bite on Gareth Barry after the Everton midfielder denied the claim.

A Chelsea spokesman made it clear in the immediate aftermath of Sunday’s FA Cup quarter-final with Everton that Costa did not bite Barry on the neck, and BBC Sport reports the 34-year-old as being in agreement.

Although the British broadcasted added that the FA were awaiting referee Michael Oliver’s report before deciding if more action was necessary, the country’s Press are adamant the naturalised Spaniard will only be charged on two other counts.

They relate to the manner in which he reacted to being sent off and his conduct when he eventually left the pitch, amidst allegations he made an inappropriate gesture to Everton fans.

Chelsea’s last hope of silverware was distinguished as a brace from their former player Romelu Lukaku gave the Toffees a 2-0 win.

Neither the Spanish Football Federation (RFEF) nor a senior member of the national team have commented on the incident in light of next week’s international break and Euro 2016 being just three months away.

Tags Chelsea Diego Costa everton FA Cup Spain