Cheryshev ineligible for Copa?

It’s believed Denis Cheryshev was ineligible for Wednesday’s Copa del Rey tie and if so, Real Madrid could be kicked out of the competition.

Reports emanated from Spain shortly after the match at Cadiz got underway – Cheryshev opening the scoring for Los Blancos – that the Russia winger never served a suspension accumulated while on loan last season at Villarreal.

He was booked against Real Sociedad, Getafe and Barcelona, and three yellow cards equates to a one-game ban, the RFEF confirming the ban in a bulletin posted after Barca eliminated the Yellow Submarine.

RFEF rules allow for the offending team to be kicked out of the competition for fielding an ineligible player and that fate was suffered by Osasuna earlier this season.

Cadiz have to make an official complaint to the Federation for Madrid to face such a punishment and it’s not yet known if the Segunda B club will do so.

Tags Denis Cheryshev