La Liga to play on December 30-31

The LFP has announced that nine matches will be played on December 30, with the derby between Villarreal and Valencia a day later.

Atletico Madrid’s trip to Rayo Vallecano was initially due to be played on New Years’ Eve, but the San Silvestre road race, which passes through Madrid, has forced the reshuffle.

Nonetheless, the Valencian derby remains a 15:00 GMT kick-off on December 31.

The LFP has permitted fixtures over the Christmas holidays so the Spanish national team will have more days to prepare for Euro 2016.

Wednesday December 30:

Real Madrid v Real Sociedad (15:00 GMT)

Eibar v Sporting Gijon (15:00 GMT)

Sevilla v Espanyol (17:15 GMT)

Levante v Malaga (17:15 GMT)

Rayo Vallecano v Atletico Madrid (17:15 GMT)

Getafe v Deportivo La Coruna (19:30 GMT)

Barcelona v Real Betis (19:30 GMT)

Celta Vigo v Athletic Bilbao (19:30 GMT)

Las Palmas v Granada (19:30 GMT)

Thursday December 31:

Villarreal v Valencia (15:30 GMT)

Tags Deportivo LFP