Madrid, Barca dominate Ballon d’Or

Lionel Messi, Luis Suarez and Neymar of Barcelona and Real Madrid’s Gareth Bale, Karim Benzema and Cristiano Ronaldo are all shortlisted for the 2015 Ballon d’Or.

The 23-man shortlist was revealed on Tuesday with the MSN and the BBC all recognised by FIFA for the award currently held by Ronaldo.

Barca’s front three are joined by midfielders Ivan Rakitic and Andres Iniesta and defender Javier Mascherano, giving the Catalans six representatives, the most of any club.

Madrid have five as James Rodriguez and Toni Kroos are alongside their aforementioned teammates.

There are no other La Liga-based players on the list compiled by the FIFA Football Committee and experts from France Football magazine, and no other Spain internationals.

The winner will be announced on January 11 at a ceremony in Zurich. Messi and Bayern Munich and Germany goalkeeper Manuel Neuer placed behind Ronaldo in the 2014 voting.

The 2015 Ballon d’Or shortlist in full:

Sergio Aguero [Argentina/Manchester City], Gareth Bale [Wales/Real Madrid], Karim Benzema [France/Real Madrid], Cristiano Ronaldo [Portugal/Real Madrid], Kevin De Bruyne [Belgium/Manchester City], Eden Hazard [Belgium/Chelsea], Zlatan Ibrahimovic [Sweden/Paris Saint-Germain], Andres Iniesta [Spain/Barcelona], Toni Kroos [Germany/Real Madrid], Robert Lewandowski [Poland/Bayern Munich], Javier Mascherano [Argentina/Barcelona], Lionel Messi [Argentina/Barcelona], Thomas Muller [Germany/Bayern Munich], Manuel Neuer [Germany/Bayern Munich], Neymar [Brazil/Barcelona], Paul Pogba [France/Juventus], Ivan Rakitic [Croatia/Barcelona], Arjen Robben [Netherlands/Bayern Munich], James Rodriguez [Colombia/Real Madrid], Alexis Sanchez [Chile/Arsenal], Luis Suarez [Uruguay/Barcelona], Yaya Toure [Ivory Coast/Manchester City], Arturo Vidal [Chile/Bayern Munich]

Tags Andres Iniesta Ballon d'Or Cristiano Ronaldo Gareth Bale Ivan Rakitic James Rodriguez Javier Mascherano Karim Benzema Lionel Messi Luis Suarez Neymar Toni Kroos