La Liga to restart August 15

The 2015-16 La Liga season will begin on the weekend of August 15 and 16 following approval from the League’s executive committee.

The dates now only need the green light from the Spanish Football Federation (RFEF) in order for the fixture draw to proceed.

Meanwhile, a new committee has also been established to negotiate the one-off sales of television rights with broadcasters.

Real Madrid, Barcelona, ​​Atletico Madrid, Levante and Numancia have been entrusted with securing the best possible TV deals for the rest of Spain’s professional clubs.

According to Marca, both Telefonica and Mediapro have already opened negotiations with Javier Tebas, President of Spain’s Professional Football League (LFP) in this regard.

Clubs also hope to sell their TV rights as one package from next season and not 2016-17 as originally planned.