Robben: I dived but not for penalty

Arjen Robben has admitted he dived during the Netherlands’ win over Mexico in the World Cup Round of 16.

But, the BBC reports, Robben insists he didn’t dive for what proved to be the match-winning penalty, converted by Klaas-Jan Hunterlaar in the final minutes of the match to give the Dutch a 2-1 win.

Wesley Sneijder had previously equalised for the Oranje after Giovani Dos Santos put Mexico in front.

The Netherlands now meet Costa Rica, who dispatched Greece on penalties last night.

“I have to apologise. In the first half I took a dive,” Robben said. “The one at the end was a penalty,” he added.

Both Robben and referee Pedro Proenca were criticised for the incident by the Mexico players and Coach, including goal scorer dos Santos.

Tags Arjen Robben Netherlands World Cup 2014
La Liga - Club News