Arrasate angry over penalty decision

Real Sociedad Coach Jagoba Arrasate believes his side should have been awarded a penalty in the Copa del Rey defeat to Barcelona.

Barcelona won the game 2-0 but Arrasate argued at his post-match Press conference that the tie would have been different if Javier Mascherano had been called for a foul on Carlos Vela, while the decision to send off Inigo Martinez for protesting the non-penalty also raised Arrasate’s ire.

“I saw what happened for the penalty like everyone else,” Arrasate said.

“It’s a clear penalty and a sending off. It was brave to send off Martinez but not to turn down the penalty.

“There was much screwed up in the referee’s performance.

“It’s already hard to compete at Camp Nou but with these things, it’s even harder.”

Arrasate added that the defeat was a particularly bad result as La Real failed to get an away goal, but he was reluctant to be overly critical of his side.

“We’ve been good defensively and we didn’t get caught on the counter-attack.

“The team gave everything and played 50 minutes with a man down.”

Tags Arrasate