Athletic Bilbao’s new San Mames is reportedly in line to be Spain’s host city at the European Championships in 2020.

Euro 2020 will be hosted across 13 cities from different countries in the European continent, to mark the competition’s 60th anniversary.

Four Spanish cities were put forward in September by the Spanish Football Federation (RFEF) to be considered, with Bilbao lined up against Valencia’s Nou Mestalla, Barcelona’s Cornella-El Prat and Madrid’s La Peineta.

AS report that Bilbao’s San Mames will be selected as one of the 13 host cities, and take one of the two hosting packages available.

Euro 2020 will be split into 12 standard hosting packages to include three group stage matches and one knockout round match, either in the Last 16 or quarter-finals, whilst a 13th package will be for the semi-finals and final of the tournament.

The RFEF can put forward two hosting bids – one for one the 12 standard packages and another for the semi-finals and final package and that can be with one city bidding for both, or two different cities.

Only one city per country will be selected though, with final bid dossiers submitted by April 25, 2014.

Tags Cornella-El Prat Euro 2020 La Peineta Nou Mestalla San Mames Spain UEFA