LFPs: Ronaldo MVP, Messi Best Player

The Spanish Football League (LFP) held their annual award ceremony on Monday night, with Cristiano Ronaldo named MVP and Lionel Messi Best Player.

Held each year in the final month of the calendar, the awards recognise a number of categories across the Spanish game.

In the playing categorise, a shortlist of three nominations per position is determined by a technical committee, before serving Coaches vote for the winners, whilst Player and Coach of the Year are determined by a vote among players.

Cristiano Ronaldo picked up Most Valuable Player, whilst Lionel Messi was handed the Best Forward and Best Player, although the latter award’s announcement drew a mixed response from the crowd.

Barca President Sandro Rosell, collecting the award on the player’s behalf, noted: “Thank you for the applause, because here we do not receive that as easily as we do in Barcelona.”

The Catalans saw Andres Iniesta for Best Attacking Midfielder and Gerard Deulofeu for Best Player in Liga Adelante also recognised.

Atletico Madrid’s Diego Simeone was awarded Best Coach, whilst Thibaut Courtois was recognised as Best Goalkeeper.

Asier Illarramendi picked up a double, being handed the Best Midfielder and Breakthrough Player awards.

Fair Play awards, as determined by a fan vote, were handed to Iker Casillas in the player category and Athletic Bilbao in the club section.

LFP Awards 2012-13

Most Valuable Player Cristiano Ronaldo

Best Player Liga BBVA Leo Messi

Best Goalkeeper Liga BBVA Thibaut Courtois

Best Defender Liga BBVA Sergio Ramos

Best Midfielder Liga BBVA Asier Illarramendi

Best Attacking Midfielder Liga BBVA Andrés Iniesta

Best Forward Liga BBVA Leo Messi

Breakthrough Player Liga BBVA Asier Illarramendi

Best Coach Liga BBVA Diego Simeone

Fair Play Award (player) Liga BBVA Iker Casillas

Fair Play Award (club) Liga BBVA   Athletic Bilbao


Best Player Liga Adelante Gerard Deulofeu

Best Goalkeeper Liga Adelante Esteban

Best Defemder Liga Adelante Edu Albácar

Best Midfielder Liga Adelante Bruno Soriano

Best Attacking Midfielder Liga Adelante Vitolo

Best Forward Liga Adelante Charles

Breakthrough Player Liga Adelante Chuli

Best Coach Liga Adelante Fran Escribá

Fair Play Award (player) Liga Adelante Bruno Soriano

Fair Play Award (club) Liga Adelante Villarreal

Tags Courtois Deulofeu Illarramendi Iniesta LFP Messi Ramos Ronaldo Simeone