‘I’d have voted for Neymar, then me’

Thiago Silva has rued being unable to vote for Neymar in the Ballon d’Or polling, as he picks Lionel Messi, Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Cristiano Ronaldo.

The centre-back has a vote in the annual award to recognise the best player of the 12 months through his position as Brazil’s captain.

“It is a pity that I cannot vote for a Brazilian because I would vote for Neymar first and then I would put me second,” joked Silva to Globoesporte this week.

“My votes have not changed much from last year. I have put Messi first, Ibra second for his goals and Cristiano Ronaldo third because he did not win a title this year.

“Any of them could win it as they are all great players.”

Rules for the FIFA Ballon d’Or award do not restrict captains or Coaches from national teams voting for players of the same nationality.

Tags Brazil FIFA Ballon d'Or Ibrahimovic Messi Neymar Ronaldo Thiago Silva