Ballon d’Or ceremony today

Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Andres Iniesta will learn this evening which of them will receive the 2012 FIFA Ballon d’Or.

The trio are shortlisted for the award to recognise the best player of the previous 12 months, with Barcelona’s Messi the favourite to pick up what would be a fourth successive title.

Should the Argentine be named the recipient just before 7pm UK time at Zurich’s Kongresshaus, it will move him clear of three-time winners Johan Cruyff, Marco van Basten and Michel Platini as the player with the most to his name.

The 25-year-old will also surpass a record for consecutive Ballon d’Ors, currently shared with Platini, who picked up three in a row in the 1980s.

The Coach of the Year Ballon d’Or will also be awarded during Monday evening’s gala event, with Spain Coach Vicente del Bosque up against Real Madrid’s Jose Mourinho and Barcelona’s former tactician Pep Guardiola.

The FIFA FIFPro World XI 2012 will also be announced, with a number of La Liga-based stars listed in the 55-man shortlist, whilst Radamel Falcao will find out if he has beaten Neymar and Miroslav Stoch in the public vote for the FIFA Puskas award, recognising the best goal of 2012.

Who do you think should win the 2012 FIFA Ballon d’Or? Read Football Espana’s arguments for each of the three shortlisted players:

Lionel Messi

Cristiano Ronaldo

Andres Iniesta

Tags Ballon d'Or Del Bosque Falcao Guardiola Iniesta Messi mourinho Ronaldo