Jose Mourinho is the highest paid Coach in world football today, pulling in almost €2m a year more than his nearest rival, but only before tax.

The Portuguese, who signed a new contract with Real Madrid last May but has endured a difficult start to the 2012-13 season, has been revealed as the game’s best paid tactician, receiving an annual salary of €15.3m.

The next highest ranking La Liga-based Coach is Tito Vilanova at Barcelona, who is handed €7m a season, whilst Jose Antonio Camacho immediately follows him in the list with €5.9m a year marking his position in charge of the Chinese national team.

Manuel Pellegrini is next up for Spanish-based or Spanish nationals listed in the top 30, with his take home of €3.6m and he is followed by Marcelo Bielsa at Athletic Bilbao on €2.5m.

However, there is a sting in the tail for Mourinho, if income tax is calculated against those earnings. The 52 per cent rate in Spain pulls him below Carlo Ancelotti at Paris Saint-Germain on wages in real terms.

In fact, of all the Coaches in the list, it is those based in Spain who are paying the highest amount of tax each year and the only ones to be paying more than 50 per cent of their earnings to the tax office.

1. Jose Mourinho (Real Madrid €15.3m)
2. Carlo Ancelotti (PSG €13.5m)
3. Marcello Lippi (Guangzhou Evergrande €10m)
4. Alex Ferguson (Manchester United €9.4m)
5. Arsene Wenger (Arsenal €9.3m)
6. Guus Hiddink (Anzhi €8.3m)
7. Fabio Capello (Russia €7.8m)
8. Tito Vilanova (Barcelona €7m)
9. Jose' Antonio Camacho (China €5.9m), Roberto Mancini (Manchester City €5.9m)
11. Frank Rijkaard (UAE €5.3m)
12. Jupp Heynckes (Bayern Munich €5.2m)
13. André Villas Boas (Tottenham €4.5m)
14. Harry Redknapp (Queens Park Rangers €4m)
14. Jorge Jesus (Benfica €4m)
16. David Moyes (Everton €3.6m), Manuel Pellegrini (Malaga €3.6m), Paulo Autuori (Qatar €3.6m)
19. Abel Braga (Fluminense €3.5m)
20. Luciano Spaletti (Zenit €3.3m) 
21. Antonio Conte (Juventus €3m), Cesare Prandelli (Italy €3m), Vanderlei Luxemburgo (Gremio €3m), Muricy Ramalho (Santos €3m), Tite (Corinthians €3m)
26. Ottmar Hitzfeld (Switzerland €2.6m)
27. Joachim Loew (Germany €2.5m), Marcelo Bielsa (Athletic Bilbao €2.5m), Martin O'Neil (Sunderland €2.5m), Roy Hodgson (England €2.5m)

Tags Bielsa Camacho mourinho Pellegrini Vilanova
La Liga - Club News