LFP award winners announced

The list of individual winners at the 2011-12 Spanish Football League awards has been revealed, with Lionel Messi once more named as Best Player.

The annual LFP awards recognise players and Coaches in both La Primera and Segunda Division, with all but one of the top-flight’s categories going to members from Barcelona or Real Madrid.

Messi was handed the Best Forward award alongside a third successive Best Player gong, whilst Pep Guardiola picked up the award for Best Coach of 2011-12 in La Liga, whilst Andres Iniesta was named Best Attacking Midfielder and Carles Puyol was recognised for Fair Play.

Iker Casillas picked up the Best Goalkeeper award, Sergio Ramos was named Best Defender, whilst Xabi Alonso was selected as the Best Central Midfielder for last season.

Malaga’s attacking talent Isco was selected as the Breakthrough Player of the season in La Primera. The Segunda Division category was dominated by promoted duo Deportivo and Celta Vigo. Juan Carlos Valeron was named as La Segunda’s Best Player last term.

“I want to thank the Coaches who voted for me as the Best Forward and my professional colleagues who voted for me as Best Player,” commented Messi upon collecting his two awards.

“It is a great source of pride to receive these awards. I played a lot last year and this is a great dream and an enormous joy.”

LFP 2011-12 awards (Primera/Segunda)

Best Player Messi (Barcelona) / Valeron (Deportivo)

Best Coach Guardiola (Barcelona) / Oltra (Deportivo)

Best Goalkeeper Casillas (R. Madrid) / Aranzubia (Deportivo)

Best Defender Ramos (R. Madrid) / Bartra (Barcelona)

Best Central Midfielder Xabi Alonso (R. Madrid) / Alex Lopez (Celta)

Best Attacking Midfielder Iniesta (Barcelona) / Guardado (Deportivo/Valencia)

Best Forward Messi (Barcelona) / Iago Aspas (Celta)

Breakthrough Player Isco (Malaga) / Javi Hervas (Cordoba/Sevilla)

Fair Play Puyol (Barcelona) / Corona (Almeria)

Tags Casillas Deportivo Guardiola Iniesta Isco Messi Puyol Ramos Valeron
La Liga - Club News