Messi discredits the referee

Lionel Messi believes that the referee at Riazor was incorrect in awarding Deportivo a penalty and in later sending off Barcelona’s Javier Mascherano.

The Argentine netted a penalty to help ensure that the Catalans left with three points in a 5-4 result, but he was not focused on that post-match.

“There was no penalty there, nor should Mascherano have been sent off,” declared the forward post-match. “The referee saw otherwise and what happened, happened.

“We won, it’s always difficult after international matches, because you get tired. This was important.”

Messi’s triple-strike saw him reach 59 club goals for the calendar year of 2012, a new personal best.

“The important thing is that we keep winning, maintaining the level from before the international break. It is not easy after so much travel with the national team and to have played in both matches.”

Tags Deportivo Messi
La Liga - Club News