Unai Emery felt Paris Saint-Germain should have had a penalty in their 3-1 defeat to Real Madrid, but says his side aren’t out of the Champions League yet.
Handball could have been given against Sergio Ramos with the scores at 1-1 and Emery suggested post-match that the result would have been different had Italian referee Gianluca Rocchi done his job.
“I was told there could have been a hand by Ramos. I didn’t see it but I was told what it was…it’s the referee’s job and if it’s a penalty you have to call it,” the ex-Sevilla Coach said, AS reports.
“It’s not a matter of justification. I think we can come back if the referee’s decisions don’t go the other way.
“My feelings are contradictory. At 1-1 they were strengthened by a very doubtful decision of the referee. After we were better with the ball and in control, always with the ambition to score a second goal, and a doubtful decision has opened the possibility of a comeback.
“Madrid can hurt you with fast transitions. If we had been more accurate and if the referee had been a more balanced judge we could have drawn or even won because we were closest to 2-1 from the 70th minute.
“They are the favourites because they’re the Champions League holders and because they’ve won it three of the last four times, but we have the capacity to overcome them.”
See the latest La Liga predictions and betting tips with Eurotips.co.uk