Gerard Pique furious with penalty decision in Osasuna draw

FC Barcelona defender Gerard Pique has rejected claims he was guilty of handball in their 2-2 draw at Osasuna.

The defending La Liga champions dropped two points in the closing ten minutes, after referee Juan Martinez awarded a 81st minute penalty – which Roberto Torres converted for his second goal of the game.

Former Spanish international Pique was furious in his post-match press conference, stating that Martinez was incorrect to penalises him for handball, when the incident was accidental.

"For me, it was not a penalty.

"No way should it have been given as the situation was an accident.

"The ball did hit me on the hand, but I was a very short distance and could do nothing about it.

"My hand was in a natural position while jumping for the ball.

"I do not understand the referee's decision."

Pique was booked by Martinez following his protests, meaning he has received a yellow card in all three of FC Barcelona's La Liga games so far in the 2019-20 season.

Tags FC Barcelona Gerard Pique