Spanish Supercopa, Copa del Rey revamps confirmed

The Spanish FA has confirmed format changes for the Copa del Rey and Spanish Supercopa from next season onwards.

The Copa is expanding to 116 teams (all those from the top two tiers, 32 from the Tercera, four semi-finalists of the Copa Federacion; and 10 of the previously eliminated teams of the highest position from each territorial federation).

The two-legged system will now be scrapped with the only ties over two legs to be the semi-finals, with the competition running from December through to April.

For the Supercopa, the victors and runners-up of the Copa del Rey, as well as the top two from La Liga, will compete in the competition – now to be held in January.

Last season’s one-off match between Barcelona and Sevilla was played in the Moroccan city of Tangier, but the game is usually played over two legs in Spain.

The top two sides in La Liga are set to feature in La Liga alongside the two Copa del Rey finalists, while an overlap in qualification is set to see places downgraded to Copa semi-finalists.

The Supercopa semi-finals will be held on 8/9 January with the final on 12 January.

Tags Spanish Super Cup