Spain boss Luis Enrique names new-look squad

Spain boss Luis Enrique has made a number of surprise inclusions in his 23-man squad to face Norway and Malta this month.

Getafe striker Jaime Mata and Real Betis midfielder Sergio Canales – who have both never been capped – are among those included in the squad for the European Championship qualifiers.

Sevilla defender Sergi Gomez and Napoli midfielder Fabian Ruiz are also in line for their first appearances for La Roja after inclusions on the list.

Valencia midfielder Dani Parejo and Espanyol central defender Mario Hermoso, who have both been capped just once, is also included while Sevilla winger Jesus Navas is also back in the squad.

Athletic Club forward Iker Muniain is also included in the squad for the first time since 2012 – and is looking to add to his sole cap to date.

Atletico Madrid midfield duo Saul Niguez and Koke are among those not included in the squad, while Diego Costa is also excluded following a series of injury problems.

Real Madrid playmaker Isco, who has not featured regularly for the side in recent times, is also among those not to be included.

Spain squad:

Goalkeepers: Kepa, De Gea, Pau Lopez

Defenders: Gaya, Jordi Alba, Bernat, Hermoso, Inigo Martinez, Ramos, Sergi Gomez, Sergi Roberto,

Midfielders: Jesus Navas, Busquets, Rodri, Ceballos, Fabian, Parejo, Canales

Forwards: Asensio, Rodrigo, Morata, Muniain, Jaime Mata

Tags Luis Enrique Spain