La Liga XI make Ballon d’Or shortlist

Eleven La Liga stars and three Spaniards have made the 30-man shortlist for the 2017 Ballon d’Or award, with the winner announced in May.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi have shared the last nine awards between them – with Ronaldo winning four and the Argentine forward five – while both are among the favourites once more.

The Portugese star is one of seven Real Madrid players shortlisted as he is joined by Marcelo, Sergio Ramos, Isco, Karim Benzema, Toni Kroos and Luka Modric.

Messi’s Barca teammate Luis Suarez is also on the list along with former strike partner Neymar, while Atletico Madrid duo Jan Oblak and Antoine Griezmann are also in contention.

Spain international and Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea is the third Spaniard on the list – only France (Benzema, Kylian Mbappe, Griezmann and N’Golo Kane) have more.

Andres Iniesta has not been nominated for the prize for the first time since 2008.

Tags Ballon d'Or
La Liga - Club News