Deulofeu: Scored just in case!

Spain hero Gerard Deulofeu admits he took his chance against France for 2-0 “just in case” as “I thought it had been ruled out at first”.

Deulofeu made an instant impact at Stade de France, winning a penalty to give Spain the lead before finishing off a counterattack, which prompted the use of video assistant referees to confirm the goal’s validity.

“It was a bit different with the new rules, but I’ve been working very well and I’m very happy,” the Milan loanee, formerly of Barcelona, said after the game.

“I scored it just in case. I thought it had been ruled out at first, but ultimately it was given and I’m very happy.

“The penalty was blown for quickly and it didn’t use the technology.

“We had chances in the first half, but we’re leaving with the win.”

Tags France friendly Gerard Deulofeu Spain
La Liga - Club News