Bruno blasts penalty decision

Villarreal captain Bruno Soriano furiously criticised the decision to award a spot kick against him for an alleged hand ball, stating ‘it was clearly not a penalty’.

Referee Jesus Gil Manzano controversially awarded the penalty to Real Madrid in the 74th minute with the Yellow Submarine leading 2-1 at the time, with Villarreal boss Fran Escriba sent to the stands after vehemently protesting against the decision.

"You can see clearly from the TV images that I can do nothing," Bruno told Movistar immediately after the game ended.

"The ball rebounded, hit me on the arm, I could do nothing. It was clearly not a penalty – everyone can see it was totally involuntary.

“The worst thing is the injury to Sergio Asenjo (cruciate ligament injury, expected to rule him out for eight months) especially because he was in such a good run of form.”

Tags Bruno Soriano