Barral ‘not 100%’ on penalty

David Barral confessed he was not “100 percent sure” if Granada’s penalty during their 2-0 win against Sporting Gijon on Thursday should have been given.

Barral, a former Sporting player with over 200 appearances to his name, controversially won Granada a penalty in the dying embers at Los Carmenes as he fell under Omar Mascarell’s challenge, although replays showed contact to be minimal, prompting visiting Coach Abelardo Fernandez to fume after the game.

“I don’t know if the contact was enough to signal a penalty or not, that’s decided by the referee,” the forward responded.

“I don’t know if it was a penalty 100 percent. [Mascarell] didn’t kick me, neither did I dive.

“I tried to cut inside, but instead [Mascarell’s] leg caught me.

“Nobody can question my professionalism, I’m with Granada through their struggle. We needed this victory, it was a final.

“[On his affection for Sporting], I have their badge tattooed on my calf. I was and still am a Sporting fan.”

Tags David Barral