Barca & Madrid dominate TOTY

Eight Barcelona and Real Madrid players have made up UEFA's Team of the Year for 2015, but there is no Luis Suarez.

Bayern Munich goalkeeper Manuel Neuer is selected between the sticks, while his clubmate David Alaba, Barca pair Dani Alves and Gerard Pique and Madrid's Sergio Ramos make up the back four.

Andres Iniesta and James Rodriguez flank Paul Pogba in midfield, before Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo are joined by Neymar in a trident attack.

Barca won the Champions League last season, while Los Blancos were defeated by Juventus in the last four.

Social media reaction to the XI, which was voted by users of UEFA's official website, has been mixed, with many criticising the omission of Suarez.

UEFA Team of the Year 2015: Neuer; Alves, Ramos, Pique, Alaba; Pogba, Iniesta, James; Ronaldo, Messi, Neymar

Tags UEFA UEFA Team of the Year