Spain learn Euro 2016 draw

Spain have been paired with Czech Republic, Turkey and Croatia in Group D of Euro 2016 following Saturday’s draw.

La Roja head to France next summer with the intention of becoming the first team to win four European titles, and they will kick their campaign off against Czech Republic in Toulouse on June 13, before facing Turkey in Nice four days later and rounding things off against 2012 rivals Croatia in Bordeaux on June 21.

Twenty-four teams were drawn from four pots of six in a new-look format, and the top-two sides from each of the six groups will qualify for the knockout stages, along with the best third-place finishers.

As it stands, Spain have only two pre-tournament friendlies against Italy on March 23 and Romania three days later.

Group A: France, Romania, Albania, Switzerland

Group B: England, Russia, Wales, Slovakia

Group C: Germany, Ukraine, Poland, Northern Ireland

Group D: Spain, Czech Republic, Turkey, Croatia

Group E: Belgium, Italy, Republic of Ireland, Sweden

Group F: Portugal, Iceland, Austria, Hungary

Tags Euro 2016 Spain