FIFPro XI shortlist announced

There is heavy La Liga and Spain representation on the 55-man shortlist to make FIFPro’s team of the year.

Players from Real Madrid, Barcelona and Atletico Madrid are all featured while Spain internationals plying their trade elsewhere receive recognition as well.

The players’ union notes the 55 were selected after a vote of almost 25,000 players from 70 different countries.

There are five goalkeepers, 20 defenders, 15 midfielders and 15 forwards in the running to make the select XI, which will be announced at the Ballon d’Or gala in January.

La Roja internationals such as Iker Casillas, Thiago Alcantara and David Silva won places on the list.

FIFPro World XI shortlist:

Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Buffon (Italy/Juventus), Iker Casillas (Spain/Porto), David de Gea (Spain/Manchester United), Keylor Navas (Costa Rica/Real Madrid), Manuel Neuer (Germany/Bayern Munich)

Defenders: David Alaba (Austria/Bayern Munich), Jordi Alba (Spain/Barcelona), Jerome Boateng (Germany/Bayern Munich), Daniel Carvajal (Spain/Real Madrid), Giorgio Chiellini (Italy/Juventus), Dani Alves (Brazil/Barcelona), David Luiz (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain), Diego Godin (Uruguay/Atletico Madrid), Mats Hummels (Germany/Borussia Dortmund), Branislav Ivanovic (Serbia/Chelsea), Vincent Kompany (Belgium/Manchester City), Philipp Lahm (Germany/Bayern Munich), Marcelo (Brazil/Real Madrid), Javier Mascherano (Argentina/Barcelona), Pepe (Portugal/Real Madrid), Gerard Pique (Spain/Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Spain/Real Madrid), John Terry (England/Chelsea), Thiago Silva (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain), Raphael Varane (France/Real Madrid)

Midfielders: Thiago Alcantara (Spain/Bayern Munich), Xabi Alonso (Spain/Bayern Munich), Sergio Busquets (Spain/Barcelona), Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea), Andres Iniesta (Spain/Barcelona), Toni Kroos (Germany/Real Madrid), Luka Modric (Croatia/Real Madrid), Andrea Pirlo (Italy/New York City FC), Paul Pogba (France/Juventus), Ivan Rakitic (Croatia/Barcelona), James Rodríguez (Colombia/Real Madrid), David Silva (Spain/Manchester City), Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast/Manchester City), Marco Verratti (Italy/Paris Saint-Germain), Arturo Vidal (Chile/Bayern Munich)

Forwards: Sergio Aguero (Argentina/Manchester City), Gareth Bale (Wales/Real Madrid), Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid), Douglas Costa (Brazil/Bayern Munich), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden/Paris Saint-Germain), Robert Lewandowski (Poland/Bayern Munich), Lionel Messi (Argentina/Barcelona), Thomas Muller (Germany/Bayern Munich), Neymar (Brazil/Barcelona), Arjen Robben (Netherlands/Bayern Munich), Wayne Rooney (England/Manchester United), Alexis Sanchez (Chile/Arsenal), Luis Suárez (Uruguay/Barcelona), Carlos Tevez (Argentina/Boca Juniors)

Tags FIFpro World XI Spain