Spain face Italy showdown

Spain have been paired with Italy, Israel, Albania, Macedonia and Liechtenstein in their qualifying group for the 2018 World Cup.

The most notable party facing La Roja in Group B is the Azzurri, whom they beat 4-0 in the Euro 2012 final three years ago.

Italy were demoted to Pot 2 in the draw following their 1-0 friendly defeat to Portugal in June.

Spain, meanwhile, will want to fare significantly better in Russia, having conceded their 2010 title last summer via a humiliating group-stage exit.

Group A: Netherlands, France, Sweden, Bulgaria, Belarus, Luxembourg

Group B: Portugal, Switzerland, Hungary, Faroe Islands, Latvia, Andorra

Group C: Germany, Czech Republic, Northern Ireland, Norway, Azerbaijan, San Marino

Group D: Wales, Austria, Serbia, Republic of Ireland, Moldova, Georgia

Group E: Romania, Denmark, Poland, Montenegro, Armenia, Kazakhstan

Group F: England, Slovakia, Scotland, Slovenia, Lithuania, Malta

Group G: Spain, Italy, Albania, Israel, Macedonia, Liechtenstein

Group H: Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Greece, Estonia, Cyprus

Group I: Croatia, Iceland, Ukraine, Turkey, Finland

Tags Albania Israel Italy Liechtenstein Macedonia Spain World Cup 2018
La Liga - Club News