Pique protests penalty award

Gerard Pique has insisted he couldn’t do anything about the handball that led to a penalty for Real Madrid as Barcelona lost El Clasico.

Barca went in front through Neymar but Madrid were level before half-time, Cristiano Ronaldo converting after Pique was adjudged to have handled.

Pepe and Karim Benzema wrapped up the win for Los Blancos and dealt Barca their first League defeat of the season.

“In the first half we were the better team,” Pique told reporters, according to AS.

“Neymar scored [Lionel Messi] had a great chance, but then came the penalty.

“It would be nice to know what the criteria is because it’s true the ball touches my hand but I couldn’t get it out the way.

“In the second half we suffered because they got the second goal and used very fast counter-attacks. Madrid’s second goal changed the game.”

Expanding on why he felt the penalty was wrongly awarded, Pique repeated that he couldn’t do anything about it.

“He kicked the ball and I can’t disappear,” he protested.

“The ball hit my hand and the whistle can be blown then.

“Then came their second goal and the third, from a corner in our favour.

“The referee didn’t say anything. I threw myself to the ground to use my body and I couldn’t put my hands behind my back.

“We were really good in the first half. After that we suffered, but it’s the Bernabeu, where we’ve often suffered, but we didn’t do badly.”

Tags Clasico Gerard Pique