Vicente Del Bosque has named his preliminary 30-man Spain squad for this summer’s World Cup.

La Roja have been drawn in Group B alongside Netherlands, Chile and Australia for the tournament, with their first match on June 13 against the Dutch.

The Coach has announced his initial selection this afternoon, with a number of surprise selections.

Ander Iturraspe has been named after an impressive season for Athletic Bilbao, whilst Alberto Moreno and Dani Carvajal are included in defence.

Bayern Munich duo Thiago Alcantara and Javi Martinez are both named, whilst Koke, Juanfran, Diego Costa and David Villa are all in the squad from Atletico Madrid.

Fernando Torres, Alvaro Negredo and Fernando Llorente are in up front – with one likely to be cut.

The veteran tactician must dwindle this initial selection down to 23 names – that will happen on May 25, a day before they meet for their ‘concentracion’ training camp.

With such an array of talent, some names will feel unfortunate to miss out. There is no place for Diego Lopez in goal, Alvaro Arbeloa misses out, as does Isco, Iker Muniain and Ander Herrera. Marc Bartra and Inigo Martinez haven't done quite enough to be included, and neither has Gabi or Asier Illarramendi. Injured duo Victor Valdes and Jese will also be watching from home.

Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), Pepe Reina (Napoli), David De Gea (Manchester United)

Defenders: Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid) Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Alberto Moreno (Sevilla), Javi Martinez (Bayern Munich), Raul Albiol (Napoli), Juanfran (Atletico Madrid), Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid)

Midfielders: Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Ander Iturraspe (Athletic Bilbao), Xavi (Barcelona), Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich), Pedro (Barcelona), Jesus Navas (Manchester City), David Silva (Manchester City), Cesc Fabregas (Barcelona), Juan Mata (Manchester United), Santi Cazorla (Arsenal), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)

Forwards: Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid), David Villa (Atletico Madrid), Alvaro Negredo (Manchester City), Fernando Torres (Chelsea), Fernando Llorente (Juvetus)

Tags Del Bosque Spain World Cup 2014