Copa del Rey draw determined

The Copa del Rey has been drawn, with Barcelona, Real Madrid, Atletico Madrid and the rest of La Liga learning Round of 32 and possible future opponents.

In the seeded draw for the Round of 32 of the competition, La Liga’s sides have entered the mix, with those playing in Europe paired with remaining sides from the Segunda Division B and Tercera Divison outfits.

Subsequently, Cup holders Atletico have been drawn against Segunda B’s Catalan outfit Sant Andreu, whilst last year’s runners-up Madrid will play Valencia’s Olimpic de Xativa, from the same Division.

Barcelona have been paired with Cartagena CF whilst Real Sociedad will play Algeciras CF.

La Liga’s Europa League participants were next out of the hat to be paired with lower League opposition, with Sevilla drawing Racing Santander, Valencia set for a trip to Gimnastic de Tarragona and Real Betis playing Club Lleida.

The next phase of the draw paired the remaining Segunda Division teams in the competition with Primera Division sides not in European competition, before those left from the top flight were drawn against each other.

Ties are two-legged affairs, with the first leg set at the lower League side’s ground – if applicable, otherwise the first team out of the hat. First legs are to be played between December 6 and 8 and return legs are scheduled for December 17 through to 19.

The draw for the Round of 16 was also held, with possible meetings in that round between Valencia and Atletico Madrid, Barcelona and Getafe and Real Madrid and Malaga.

The quarter-final and semi-final pairings were also listed. Real Madrid and Atletico Madrid could meet in the semi-finals, whilst Barcelona are potential finalists against either side.

Copa del Rey full draw

Round of 32

Olímpic de Xàtiva – Real Madrid

Algeciras CF – Real Sociedad

CF Cartagena – FC Barcelona

UE Sant Andreu – Atlético de Madrid

Racing de Santander – Sevilla

Gimnástic de Tarragona – Valencia

Club Lleida – Real Betis

Recreativo de Huelva – Levante

Girona – Getafe

Alcorcón – Granada

Las Palmas – Almería

Real Jaén – Espanyol

Villarreal – Elche

Málaga – Osasuna

Celta – Athletic

Valladolid – Rayo Vallecano

Round of 16 (winners from)

1 Valladolid or Rayo Vallecano – Recreativo de Huelva or Levante

2 Alcorcón or Granada – Real Jaén or Espanyol

3 Las Palmas or Almería – Racing de Santander or Sevilla

4 Olímpic de Xàtiva or Real Madrid – Málaga or Osasuna

5 CF Cartagena or FC Barcelona – Girona or Getafe

6 Gimnástic de Tarragona or Valencia – UE Sant Andreu or Atlético de Madrid

7 Club Lleida or Real Betis – Celta or Athletic

8 Algeciras CF or Real Sociedad – Villarreal or Elche


A Winner of match 2 – Winner of match 4

B Winner of match 1 – Winner of match 5

C Winner of match 8 – Winner of match 3

D Winner of match 6 – Winner of match 7


Winner of quarter-final B – Winner of quarter-final C

Winner of quarter-final A – Winner of quarter-final D

Tags Primera Division