Espanyol, Rayo licences rejected

Espanyol and Rayo Vallecano have had applications for to compete in European competition next season rejected by the RFEF, but Malaga have theirs granted.

The Anchovies are facing a 12-month ban from UEFA club competition for financial irregularities, pending an appeal taken to the Court of Arbitration for Sport.

Even so, the prerequisite that all clubs competing in European need of a UEFA licence from their domestic football association has been granted to Malaga, in the case that their appeal is successful.

Clubs must apply each season for a UEFA licence from the Spanish Football Federation in order to play in the following season’s European competition, should they qualify.

One point of requirement is that all debts outstanding are settled by the previous December 31. Real Betis and Sevilla are among the notable names to have been granted a licence.

Rayo Vallecano and Espanyol have both seen applications turned down, reportedly both on the grounds that financial conditions were not satisfactory, but they may appeal the decision.

Currently sitting 10th and 11th in La Liga, the duo still have an outside chance of finishing in a European qualification position by the end of the season.

Real Valladolid, Osasuna, Granada, Zaragoza, Deportivo and Celta Vigo have all also not been granted UEFA licences for next year.