Portugal pick eight Liga players

Eight La Liga-based players have been named in the latest Portugal squad for World Cup qualifying later this month.

For the team’s games 2014 qualifiers with Russia and Northern Ireland, head Coach Paulo Bento has called up Pepe, Cristiano Ronaldo and Fabio Coentrao of Real Madrid.

They are joined by Nelson Oliveira and Pizzi from Deportivo, Valencia’s Joao Pereira, Sereno from Valladolid and Helder Postiga of Real Zaragoza. Meanwhile, Valencia’s Ricardo Costa is unavailable through injury.

Portugal squad to face Russia and Northern Ireland: Rui Patrício (Sporting de Lisboa), Eduardo (Estambul), Beto (Braga), Coentrao (Real Madrid), Luís Neto (Siena), Joao Pereira (Valencia), Miguel Lopes (Oporto), Sereno (Valladolid), Bruno Alves (Oporto) y Pepe (Real Madrid), Custódio (Braga), Moutinho (Oporto), Veloso (Dínamo de Kiev), Meireles (Fenerbahce), Rubén Amorim (Braga), Rubén Micael (Braga), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Hélder Postiga (Zaragoza), Nani (Manchester United), Pizzi (Deportivo de La Coruña), Nélson Oliveira (Deportivo de La Coruña), Varela (Oporto) y Éder (Braga)

Tags Coentrao Deportivo Joao Pereira Pepe Portugal Ronaldo