Mendibilibar blames ref’s influence

Jose Luis Mendilibar has hit out at the referee for affecting play moments before Barcelona equalised against Osasuna on Sunday evening.

With the home side leading and frustrating their Catalan opponents, the match official, in error, blocked Patxi Punal from taking possession of the ball.

From the subsequent passage of play, Lionel Messi managed to equalise for the visitors, whilst Punal’s protests to the referee earned him a sending off.

Barca consequently won the game 2-1 and Mendibilibar is in no doubt as to why.

“I am feeling frustration. I can believe that we cannot do anymore to have won that game,” complained the Coach at full-time.

“In one move we were out of the game – the obstruction of the referee to Patxi Punal in midfield has prevented him taking the ball.

“We concede a goal, to leave us in a dubious position and, above all, we are left with one less player as Punal raises his arm in frustration of not being able to get the ball and the goal that is subsequently scored.

“If the referee is not in control then he cannot be refereeing the football match. It is clear to me.

“My protest is for the frustration for how the play went, from the referee preventing our player getting the ball. It has led to the equalising goal and a red card.

“Then, they score again when we are reduced to 10 men and it is nearly impossible.”

Tags Mendilibar