Friday December 6 2013
Spain draw Netherlands, Chile, Australia

Spain will begin the defence of the World Cup at Brazil 2014 against the Netherlands, Chile and Australia, after the draw for the group stages of the competition was held.

La Roja, who lifted the trophy three-and-a-half years ago in South Africa, head up Group B and will kick off on Day 2 of the tournament next summer with June 13’s clash with the Netherlands at the Arena Fonte Nova stadium in Salvador.

This mouth-watering tie is a repeat of the 2010 World Cup Final, which was decided in extra-time in Johannesburg by Andres Iniesta.

Vicente del Bosque’s men will then travel to Rio to play Chile on at the Estádio do Maracanã, on June 18, before finishing their group stage campaign on June 23 against Australia in Curitiba at the Arena da Baixada.

Winners from Group B will then face off against the runners-up from Group A in the Last 16, whilst Group A’s winners will meet Group B’s runners-up.

With that group including hosts Brazil, Croatia, Mexico and Cameroon, it sets up the possibility of an intriguing knockout meeting for Spain.

World Cup 2014 Group B: Spain, Netherlands, Chile, Australia

Click here to see the full World Cup 2014 group stage draw and fixtures.

See the latest La Liga predictions and betting tips with

Football Italia website