Leganes request ‘clarification’ on Barcelona’s second goal

Leganes have officially requested ‘clarification’ on the decision to allow Barcelona’s second goal in their 3-1 victory on Sunday evening.

Luis Suarez restored Barca’s advantage in the match with 20 minutes remaining, but he collided with visiting goalkeeper Ivan Cuellar (pictured) during the movement.

VAR did not overrule the referee’s decision to allow the game, causing anger among the visiting team, who have now emailed the Spanish FA requesting an explanation.

However, Barca Coach Ernesto Valverde told Spanish TV station Movistar Partidazo immediately after the game that he “thought it was a valid goal.

“Everybody will have their own opinion on decisions of this nature but the referee awarded the goal and VAR was in place to overrule that decision had it not been correct.

“Luis does not touch the goalkeeper so that is why it was given so there really should not be a big deal about the controversy.”

Tags Ivan Cuellar