2017/18 La Liga fixtures released

Real Madrid will start the defence of their La Liga title at the Riazor against Pepe Mel’s Deportivo La Coruna, it has been confirmed.

Ernesto Valverde’s first league match in charge of Barcelona has seen them pitted against Quique Setien’s new-look Real Betis  at the Camp Nou in a repeat of last year’s opening day, when the Catalans ran out 6-2 winners.

Girona’s first ever match in Spain’s top flight sees them host Atletico Madrid, fresh from a summer of being unable to register any new signings, in Catalonia.

Elsewhere, newly-promoted clubs Getafe and Levante will travel to Europa League clubs Athletic Bilbao and Villarreal respectively.

Eduardo Berizzo’s first domestic match in charge of Sevilla will be up against Espanyol at the Sanchez Pizjuan in a repeat of last season’s opening day 6-4 thriller.  

Two new managers will go head-to-head at the Mestalla as Marcelino Garcia Toral’s Valencia will begin their campaign against Las Palmas.

Celta Vigo will start their season at home to Real Sociedad, Eibar will travel to Malaga and Leganes take on Alaves.

La Liga opening day fixtures, to be played 18th-21st August:

Athletic Bilbao v Getafe

Barcelona v Real Betis

Celta Vigo v Real Sociedad

Deportivo La Coruna v Real Madrid

Girona v Atletico Madrid

Leganes v Alaves

Malaga v Eibar

Sevilla v Espanyol

Valencia v Las Palmas

Villarreal v Levante