Mathieu injured on France duty

Barcelona defender Jeremy Mathieu may be ruled out of the Clasico after he suffered an injury representing France.

AS reports Mathieu appeared to injure his knee it what turned out to be a 4-2 win for Les Bleus over Russia on Tuesday evening.

Mathieu had only been on the pitch eight minutes before he was forced off in the second half of the match at the Stade de France, Mundo Deportivo adds.

He had to be helped from the field but wasn’t stretchered off, but the report from MD suggests he has torn his meniscus and there’s a concern the injury could be serious.

The former Valencia man will undergo tests to discover the extent of the problem when he returns to Barcelona.

Tags Jeremy Mathieu