La Liga teams learn CL draw

Barcelona, Real Madrid, Atletico Madrid, Valencia and Sevilla have discovered who they are to face in the Champions League group stages.

Holders Barca are in Group E along with Bayer Leverkusen, Roma and BATE Borisov.

Second seeds Madrid get Paris Saint-Germain, Shakhtar Donetsk and Malmo in Group A.

Atletico, also second seeds, have Benfica, Galatasaray and Astana in Group C.

Valencia, the third Spanish team in Pot 2, are paired with Zenit, Lyon and Gent in Group H.

Sevilla round out Spanish interest in the competition and, as third seeds, get Group D and face Juventus, Manchester City and Borussia Monchengladbach.

The draw on Thursday in Monaco was an historic one as it was the first team five teams from one League were involved.

Barca also qualified as champions of Spain while the Madrid clubs and Valencia rounded out last year’s La Liga top four.

Valencia had to come through a play-off against Monaco to be in the draw while Sevilla qualified as winners of the Europa League, the first beneficiaries of the new rules.

Champions League group stage draw in full:

Group A: Paris Saint-Germain, Real Madrid, Shakhtar, Malmo

Group B: PSV Eindhoven, Manchester United, CSKA Moscow, Wolfsburg

Group C: Benfica, Atletico Madrid, Galatasaray, Astana

Group D: Juventus, Manchester City, Sevilla, Borussia Monchengladbach

Group E: Barcelona, Bayer Leverkusen, Roma, BATE

Group F: Bayern Munich, Arsenal, Olympiacos, Dynamo Kiev

Group G: Chelsea, Porto, Dynamo Kiev, Maccabi Tel Aviv

Group H: Zenit, Valencia, Lyon, Gent