LFP announce Team of the Season

The Liga de Futbol Profesional have named their La Liga Team of the Season, with no Barcelona players included.

Despite finishing in second this term, no Blaugrana players have been named in the XI by the LFP.

There are however, seven Atletico Madrid names involved, after they won their first title in 18 years.

Thibaut Courtois, fresh from his Zamora award for the most clean sheets, is in goal, whilst Juanfran, Diego Godin and Filipe Luis are in the back four. Athletic Bilbao youngster Aymeric Laporte completes the defence.

In midfield, Koke and Gabi are the Colchoneros representatives, with Los Leones’ Ander Iturrapse and Sevilla’s Ivan Rakitic are also named.

Up front, top scorer Cristiano Ronaldo partners Diego Costa.

Team of the Season: Courtois; Juanfran, Laporte, Diego Godin, Filipe Luis; Koke, Gabi, Iturrapse, Rakitic; Ronaldo, Diego Costa.