Valencia, Sevilla, Betis in Europa draw

Valencia, Sevilla and Real Betis will today learn Round of 32 and potential Last 16 opponents in the Europa League.

The first two knockout stages of this year’s competition will be determined at a draw on Monday and will include three sides from La Liga.

Valencia and Sevilla, who respectively topped their groups to advance to this stage, are in the draw alongside Betis, who finished behind Lyon in Group I.

Today’s draw also sees entry of the eight third-placed teams from the Champions League group stages, including Benfica, Ajax, Porto and Juventus.

The draw for the Round of 32 will be split into two pots, with the first containing the Europa League group stage winners and the four best third place finishers from the Champions League groups, and the second containing the Europa League group stage runners-up and remaining four Champions League third-place finishers.

For the Round of 32, teams from the same country cannot be paired together, nor can teams who have faced each other in this year’s group stage.

However, this regulation does not apply when UEFA then pair the Round of 32 games off for the Last 16 ties.

Potential opponents for Valencia and Sevilla in the Round of 32 include Dynamo Kiev, Lazio, Ajax, Juventus and Porto, whilst Betis could be paired from the seeded pot with the likes of Rubin Kazan, Fiorentina, Tottenham Hotspur, Napoli, Benfica and Shakhtar Donetsk.

Seeding for today’s Europa League Round of 32 draw

Seeded: Valencia CF (ESP, Group A), PFC Ludogorets Razgrad (BUL, B), FC Salzburg (AUT, C), FC Rubin Kazan (RUS, D), ACF Fiorentina (ITA, E), Eintracht Frankfurt (GER, F), KRC Genk (BEL, G), Sevilla FC (ESP, H), Olympique Lyonnais (FRA, I), Trabzonspor AŞ (TUR, J), Tottenham Hotspur FC (ENG, K), AZ Alkmaar (NED, L), SSC, Napoli (ITA), SL Benfica (POR), FC Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR), FC Basel 1893 (SUI)

Unseeded: Swansea City AFC (ENG, Group A), FC Chornomorets Odesa (UKR, B), Esbjerg fB (DEN, C), NK Maribor (SVN, D), FC Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk (UKR, E), Maccabi Tel-Aviv FC (ISR, F), FC Dynamo Kyiv (UKR, G), FC Slovan Liberec (CZE, H), Real Betis Balompié (ESP, I), SS Lazio (ITA, J), FC Anji Makhachkala (RUS, K), PAOK FC (GRE, L), AFC Ajax (NED), Juventus (ITA), FC Porto (POR), FC Viktoria Plzeň (CZE)