‘Pepe pulled me down!’

Elche’s Carlos Sanchez believes that the real foul in the tussle between himself and Pepe that led to Real Madrid’s penalty was on him and not the Portuguese.

Sanchez was adjudged to have fouled Pepe as a corner came into the Elche box with the score at 1-1 and into the fourth minute of stoppage time.

Replays suggested that the award was contentious and the midfielder is in no doubt about that.

“The penalty is a move where he grabs me and pulls me to the ground,” commented Sanchez afterwards.

“The action is a regular move, which is always done at a corner, he draws me to the ground. The pictures say it all, I’m not getting into polemics.

“There is a struggle, but there is no penalty. He goes to the floor. There is no penalty. I stopped him from getting to a cross he would not have gotten to. It is unfair.

“They have won thanks to the referee. In the end they take all three points. I will stick with what our team has done in its performance.”

Sanchez was sent off after the final, picking up a second yellow for his complaints to the match officials.

Tags Carlos Sanchez Pepe